Pseudo Seizures

Question:

Hi Susan,

I was told by a doctor that I had Pseudo Seizures caused by my subconscious mind due to stress. He mentioned without help, it is possible for my subconscious to get stronger than my conscious mind without therapy. Is it possible and/or safe for me to get treatment through hypnosis?

Answer:

We need more information.

•  Has any doctor or pharmacist checked to see if this could be a side effect from some medication you’re on or the interaction of your medications?

•  Did you get all the usual radiographic and laboratory tests when you saw the neurologist?

If there is nothing wrong with any of the medication you’re taking AND there was no radiographic or laboratory tests, etc. when you saw the neurologist, I heartily suggest getting a second opinion.  This will rule out not just pseudo seizures, but the possibilities of something else that looks and feels like a seizure.

Next:

•  Do you find yourself seizing after something upsetting happens?

•  Are you conscious the entire time?

If the above are true, you definitely meet the criteria for pseudo seizures and hypnosis is a viable option.  Much like with a phobia, what would need to be done is change your behavior so that what triggers the seizures (stress, certain events, etc.)  triggers something else — like relaxation and clarity.

The problem is not that the subconscious will get stronger than the conscious mind; the subconscious is ALWAYS stronger than the conscious mind (see The Subconscious Mind, 2/14/2012).  In fact, our subconscious is the part of us that is most in control.

About Susan Franzblau

A hypnotist since the age of twelve, Susan began by hypnotizing friends to relieve physical pain. She then used hypnosis to help people with anxiety and panic attacks. When she realized that hypnosis was her vocation, she decided to get a professional education in hypnosis and ultimately graduated with honors from the Hypnosis Motivation Institute, the first nationally accredited college in hypnotherapy. After discovering that guided imagery is proven to be the most effective technique for helping people cope with stress, acute anxiety, and Post-Traumatic-Stress Syndrome, she has become a master level guided imagery therapist. Certified Pre- & Post- Surgery Hypnosis Certified Past Life Regression Advanced studies Post Traumatic Stress Disorders Smoking Cessation Weight Management/Healthy Living Pain Management Stress Control

Posted on January 16, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Interesting read. I agree with u that this person needs lab work and a 2nd opinion.

  2. Very interesting. I have some people I have helped with pseudo seizures using trauma therapy techniques, but I never thought of hypnotherapy as an option. Thanks for sharing this with us.

    • I’ve found hypnosis to be ideal with issues like panic attacks or pseudo seizures. Hypnotherapy ultimately works by changing habits and the sooner you rid of it the better since, with some habits, like phobias, the more often they are triggered, the stronger they become. There are so many methods to work with this via hypnosis that I never know exactly what I’ll do until I meet the client. Sometimes it’s straight desensitization, sometimes it’s imagery work of a kind, some times we use the “silly brain” approach, and more.

      I see you do Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR). One of the reasons I’m back in school is to get my Master’s and then become a licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. I need the Masters to learn EMDR which I feel is necessary if you work with people with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder which I do as an adjunct to a psychotherapist or psychiatrist. I’ve seen Francine Shapiro demonstrate it twice and it is fascinating. That we have all these different approaches is wonderful for our clients and the more I learn, the more I find I want to learn.

      • I’d never heard of Pseudo seizures or EMDR before reading this post. Thank you both, Lisa, Susan, for inspiring many more happy hours of research. (Like you, Susan, I find the more I learn, the more I want to learn. Greed of sorts, but… is this a bad thing?)

        And I’m glad you pointed that out about the escalation of phobias, Susan. We’ve had to work on that here with the Boodle and animals….

Ask the hynotherapist...

